Manifesto

This manifesto has for objective to detail reasons why Epiderm was born and which are the values carried by this project.

Epiderm is a téléconseil medical service in dermatology which started in August, 2015 on the initiative of Dr Elisabeth Berrissoul, Mickael Lecoq and Antoine Bohuon.


A complicated demographic context


Epiderm has for vocation to facilitate the access to healthcare by proposing the getting in touch of a patient with an on-line doctor within 48 hours. The objective is for us to reduce the time of wait which stretchs out, to fill the territorial disparities and dermatologists cut in staff (-45% from the dermatologists in 2020).

The time of wait to consult a dermatologist are on average of 55 days and in certain regions they can achieve more than 3 months. The initial idea of Epiderm is to fill the vaccum which exists between the appearance of the symptoms and the appointment with the general practitioner or a specialist.

Certain patients are obliged to move in dozens of kilometers from their home to consult a dermatologist. Furthermore, the consultations can require to ask for a notice to leave the office for a ½ day. Certain patients give up the care, for lack of being able to release itself.

Epiderm allows the patients to inquire the route of care. Our dermatologists estimate the pathology and direct the patient at best at his colleagues general practitioners and\or dermatologists.

Our service is also requested by the travelers or the expatriates who wish to obtain the opinion of a healthcare professional in journey.

Epiderm, through his web site, also try to substitute itself for the present sometimes inaccurate information on the forums and the social networks.


What is our medical and ethical rigor?


We believe that a new relation between the patient and the doctor is possible by the use of our new communications tools (smartphones, tablets …). With Epiderm the exchanges are made under the form of a chat (similar to message services). The conversation with the patient is facilitated because it is asynchronous (it is not necessary for the doctor nor for the patient to be connected at the same moment) and more exhaustive because the questions can be asked during a period of 7 days. It allows a more well-balanced coverage in time.

Epiderm does not have authority to substitute himself for the consultations because only they can pronounce a diagnosis. The role of Epiderm is to answer a problem of access to healthcare and to qualify at best the symptoms of the patient to direct him in the route of care.

The Epiderm service works only with certified dermatologists , registered on the CNOM, moreover they all have a specific insurance in the practice of the téléconseil. All the data of the patients are anonymous. We are attentive to the improvement of our service by a regular follow-up of tools of statistics which allow us to know better the expectations of the patients. Our doctors exchange between them once a month to estimate the practices and the methods of work.

Our team has the experience of several projects of telemedicine and we learn every time of our experiences to improve the service and meet the expectations of patient: users and doctors.

The fact of being a small complementary team allows us to have a suppleness which allows us to test hypotheses quickly and to improve ceaselessly our service. Our method of work is directly inspired by the agile methods and by the lean start-up.


Why is this present service paying and non refunded?


We did not wish to reveal of advertising on our site which would have participated in the financing of the service. It allows to keep our independence face to announcers.

We opted for a price of service lower than a consultation because we indeed think that the service provided is different from a consultation where the patient can be physically examined and where the conversation brings another experience.

The téléconseil is a complementary exercise of advice and orientation.


Why a company and not a public service?


Our objective is to manage to improve the access to healthcare and the experience of coverage. We are convinced that a private project will spread faster than a public project because the initial constraints are not the same. We are right now opened to collaborate on any initiatives which would work in the sense of a public service if the objectives contribute well to the improvement of the experience of care.

We sincerely hope that this manifest have allowed you to know better the project and the team.

Our unique objective is to participate in the improvement of the care.

We stay at your disposal to exchange,


EPIDERM Team

Manifeste

Ce manifeste a pour objectif de détailler les raisons pour lesquelles Epiderm a vu le jour et quelles sont les valeurs portées par ce projet.

Epiderm est un service de téléconseil médical en dermatologie qui a démarré en Aout 2015 à l’initiative du Dr Elisabeth Berrissoul, de Mickael Lecoq et Antoine Bohuon.


Un contexte démographique compliqué


Epiderm a pour vocation de faciliter l’accès aux soins en proposant la mise en relation d’un patient avec un médecin en ligne en moins de 48h. L’objectif est pour nous de répondre à des délais d’attente qui s’allongent, de combler les inégalités territoriales et la réduction des effectifs de dermatologues ( – 45% de dermatologues en libéraux en 2020) .

Les délais d’attente pour consulter un dermatologue sont en moyenne de 55 jours et dans certaines régions ils peuvent atteindre plus de 3 mois. L’idée initiale d’Epiderm est de combler le vide qui existe entre l’apparition des symptômes et le rendez-vous avec son médecin généraliste ou un spécialiste.

Certains patients sont obligés de se déplacer à plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres de chez eux pour consulter un dermatologue. De plus, les consultations peuvent nécessiter de prendre une ½ journée de congés. Certains patients peuvent décider d’abandonner les soins, faute de pouvoir se libérer.

Epiderm permet aux patients de se renseigner et de s’orienter dans le parcours de soins. Nos dermatologues évaluent la pathologie et orientent le patient au mieux chez ses confrères médecins généralistes et/ou dermatologues.

Notre service est également sollicité par les voyageurs ou expatriés qui souhaitent obtenir l’avis d’un professionnel de santé en voyage.

Epiderm, à travers son site internet, essaie également de se substituer aux informations parfois inexactes présentes sur les forums et les réseaux sociaux.


Quelle est notre rigueur médicale et déontologique ?


Nous croyons qu’une nouvelle relation entre le patient et le médecin est possible par l’utilisation de nos nouveaux outils de communication (smartphones, tablettes …). Avec Epiderm les échanges se font sous la forme de chat (similaire aux services de messagerie). La conversation avec le patient est facilitée parce qu’elle est asynchrone (il n’est pas nécessaire au médecin et au patient d’être connectés au même moment) et plus exhaustive car les questions peuvent être posées pendant une période de 7 jours. Cela permet une prise en charge plus équilibrée dans le temps.

Epiderm n’a pas vocation à se substituer aux consultations car elles seules permettent de prononcer un diagnostic. Le rôle d’Epiderm est de répondre à une problématique d’accès aux soins et de qualifier au mieux les symptômes du patient pour l’orienter dans le parcours de soins.

Le service Epiderm ne travaille qu’avec des médecins dermatologues certifiés, inscrits au CNOM, tous disposent d’ailleurs d’une assurance spécifique à la pratique du téléconseil. Toutes les données des patients sont anonymes. Nous sommes attentifs à l’amélioration de notre service par un suivi régulier d’outils de statistiques qui nous permettent de mieux connaître les attentes des patients. Nos médecins échangent entre eux une fois par mois pour évaluer les pratiques et les méthodes de travail.

Notre équipe a l’expérience de plusieurs projets de télémédecine et nous avons appris à chaque fois de nos expériences pour améliorer le service et répondre aux attentes des utilisateurs patients et médecins.

Le fait d’être une petite équipe complémentaire nous permet d’avoir une agilité qui nous permet de tester des hypothèses rapidement et d’améliorer sans cesse notre service. Notre méthode de travail est directement inspiré des méthodes agiles et du lean startup.


Pourquoi ce service est-il payant et non remboursé actuellement ?


Nous n’avons pas souhaité faire apparaître de publicité sur notre site qui aurait participé au financement du service. Cela permet de garder notre indépendance vis à vis des annonceurs.

Nous avons opté pour un prix de service inférieur à une consultation car nous pensons en effet que le service rendu est différent d’une consultation où le patient peut être examiné physiquement et où la conversation en cabinet amène une autre expérience.

Le téléconseil est un exercice complémentaire de conseils et d’orientation.


Pourquoi une société et pas un service public ?


Notre objectif est de réussir à améliorer l’accès aux soins et l’expérience de prise en charge. Nous sommes convaincus qu’un projet privé se déploiera plus vite qu’un projet public car les contraintes initiales ne sont pas les mêmes. Nous sommes dès à présent ouvert à collaborer à toutes initiatives qui travailleraient dans le sens d’un service public pour peu que les objectifs concourent bien à l’amélioration de l’expérience de soins.

Nous espérons sincèrement que ce manifeste vous aura permis de mieux connaître le projet et l’équipe.

Nous ne poursuivons qu’un seul objectif participer à l’amélioration des soins.

Nous sommes à votre disposition pour échanger,


L’Equipe EPIDERM